Sizing Up

Hi Cyberworld,

I know its been a while since my last post but I’ve been really busy the past little while!  But not to worry, I’m back now and I’ve got something new to say!

Recently Tim Horton’s in the Lower Mainland altered their product line up by adding a new cup size, taking one away and changing the names around. They added a new size that will be their largest cup size yet. So, to ensure that the cup sizes titles were more indicative of their true sizes, the names got switched around. The new size is now called the Extra Large, and the original cups are labelled one size smaller (medium becomes small, large becomes medium etc.).

My Thoughts:

I think this is a great move by Timmy’s. Before this switch, I found their cup titles to be a little misleading. I had always thought the old medium size should have been called a small, it was just really tiny. Perhaps it is because we are so used to drinks being gigantic that I thought this way, but I am probably not the only one. By adding the new Extra Large to their product line, Tim Horton’s positions themselves right next to Starbucks. The new Extra Large will now be a 24 oz. drink instead of the old 20 oz. How does this relate to Starbucks you ask? Well, the Starbucks Venti is also 24 oz. Now coffee lovers who want that really really big coffee will have a choice between Starbucks and Timmy’s. Whats also great about this move is that the prices for the original sizes will stay the same. But you’ll only need to pay about 20 cents more for the 24 oz. Extra Large. I really like this move and I believe this will get Timmy’s more customers and a bigger share of the market.

Great move by Timmy’s. More Coffee. More Value. More Timmy’s

-AK

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

AdPitch Blog

Awesome Ambient, guerrilla and interactive advertising campaigns

juliamchiu

Insights into the Marketing and Business World

